Whereas most censorship alerts the user to its presence with blunt error messages, attempting to instil a chilling effect, this subtler method gives users the mistaken impression of having shared their views with their online followers when, in fact, their messages are only visible on their own computers. Thus, authorities can shut down discussions without raising the spectre of netizens outraged that their posts have been deleted.