Friday 28 Feb 2020 | 10:35 | SYDNEY
What's happening on

Lowy Institute announces four new board members

The Chairman of the Lowy Institute, Mr Frank Lowy AC, announced today that four new members will be joining the Board of the Institute in 2013. 

They are Ambassador Chan Heng Chee DUBC from Singapore, Mr David Gonski AC, Air Chief Marshal Angus Houston AC AFC (Ret’d) and the Honourable James Spigelman QC AC.

“On behalf of the Board, I am delighted to welcome four individuals who will add immeasurable distinction, experience, intellect, energy and prestige to the Institute”, Mr Lowy said.

“We see the Lowy Institute as a strategic investment in Australia’s future in the Asian Century. This year is an important year for us as we celebrate our tenth anniversary. We are very proud that the Institute has become Australia’s leading think tank in less than ten years of operation”, Mr Lowy continued.

“Our ambition is for the Institute to broaden our international influence. The Board will be working hard with the Executive Director, Dr Michael Fullilove, to achieve this goal”, said Mr Lowy.

Ambassador Chan Heng Chee DUBC is the first member of the Board from Asia. She was the Ambassador of the Republic of Singapore to the United States from July 1996 to July 2012, and the first woman ambassador from an East Asian country to be assigned to the United States. Currently, she holds the position of Ambassador -at- Large and Representative to the ASEAN Intergovernmental Commission on Human Rights. In addition, she is chairman of the Lee Kuan Yew Center for Innovative Cities at the Singapore University of Technology and Design. She is a member of the Board of Trustees of the Asia Society in New York. Previously she was a member of the International Advisory Board of the New York-based Council on Foreign Relations and council member of the International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) in London.

Mr David Gonski AC is a well-known business leader and a leading philanthropist committed to the arts and education. He chaired the review panel commissioned by the Australian Government to review funding for schooling, which published its report in December 2011. Among other positions, he currently serves as Chairman of Investec Bank (Australia) Limited, Coca-Cola Amatil Limited, and the Guardians of the Future Fund, and is Chancellor of the University of New South Wales.

Air Chief Marshal Angus Houston AC AFC (Ret’d) was the Chief of the Defence Force from 2005 to 2011, and Chief of Air Force for four years before that.  He chairs the Anzac Centenary Advisory Board, Airservices Australia, and the Council for the Order of Australia, and is the patron of numerous charitable organisations.  He led the Expert Panel on Asylum Seekers which reported to the Australian Government last year on ways to prevent asylum seekers from risking their lives on dangerous boat journeys to Australia.

The Honourable James Spigelman QC AC was Chief Justice and Lieutenant Governor of New South Wales from 1998 to 2011. He is the author of several books and has published articles in legal journals in Australia, the United Kingdom and Asia. Between 1972 and 1975 he served as Senior Advisor and Principal Private Secretary to the Prime Minister of Australia. He is currently Chair of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation. 

Mr Lowy also paid tribute to the two retiring board members, Professors Ross Garnaut AO and Robert O’Neill AO, for their wise counsel and contribution to the Institute. “Professors Garnaut and O’Neill helped the Institute achieve its status as Australia’s leading think tank.”

Messrs Gonski and Spigelman will be joining the Board in February and Ambassador Chan and Air Chief Marshal Houston in May.